THE CONVICTION OF
CORA BURNS


SHORTLISTED FOR THE SPECSAVERS /CRIMEFEST DEBUT CRIME FICTION AWARD 2020

LONG LISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN AWARD 2019

Set in 1880s Birmingham, Carolyn Kirby’s stunning debut The Conviction of Cora Burns tells the story of Cora, a young woman born in a prison to a convicted criminal she never knew but from whom she fears she has inherited a violent nature. Perfect for fans of Sarah Waters,  Hannah Kent and Sarah Schmidt.

Cora was born in gaol. But is this where she belongs?

 

NO EXIT PRESS (UK)

DZANC BOOKS (US)

Praise for The Conviction of Cora Burns 

'The Conviction of Cora Burns is a spirited gothic adventure ...Kirby writes with skill and gusto...'

Antonia Senior , The Times

'...even at its darkest it is beautifully written, the research is meticulous and the complex Cora makes a flawed but affecting heroine. A great historical novel with bite.'

Deirdre O'Brien , Sunday Mirror

"This richly woven Gothic tale is an atmospheric treat."

Marie Warren, Heat

"This brilliant book is a masterful piece of literature that pulls you in from the very beginning with its intelligent discourse about personality and behavior"

Historical Novel Society 

'The Conviction of Cora Burns is a striking debut. Rich in gothic darkness and period detail, the brutality of Victorian Britain is exquisitely drawn. A beautifully-written story which enveloped me from first page to last' - Amanda Jennings, author of CLIFF HOUSE and IN HER WAKE 

"Complex, stunning and highly recommended"

Louise Beech, author of CALL ME STAR GIRl

Watch a short video about The Conviction of Cora Burns, filmed in Birmingham 

©2018 by carolynkirby.com. Proudly created with Wix.com